curationI have been trying to understand the concept of content curation and its implications for education.  I have read definitions and descriptions – yet I still did not have a picture of what it looks like in my head or how I would participate in such an action.  Until I came across a blog post by Nancy White.  I see it now as my accumulation of valued resources and teaching strategies that I am always adding to or revisiting to update.  It used to be the bookshelf in my study, with books and folders overflowing with teaching and learning ideas, examples and scrawled notes, that were to inspire great moments of learning.  Now we don’t just store and accumulate our teaching treasures, we collaborate on them with others and share them for the world to see. Voila, online content curation!  This process does not have to be limited to teachers self-directed professional development, online sites are available for children to use also.  The task is to find one that is right for the user according to complexity and value to personal growth. Some curation sites that have been recommended include:

Pearltrees – A free, visual library for users to collect, organise and share their resources online.

Diigo – An information capturing, storing, recalling and sharing tool.

Pinterest – This site allows you to “pin” interesting images you find on the web to categorised boards.  20 top tips for using Pinterest

Symbaloo – a customisable graphic organising tool that lets users add all their most important links in a format that is easy to use.

Bundlr – Helps you to classify and create bundles of similar web content.

There are many, many more – so click and explore!

